News alert

Enthronement of His Eminence Archbishop Elpidophoros of America

The Enthronement of His Eminence Archbishop Elpidophoros of America will take place on Saturday June 22 at the Archdiocesan Cathedral of the Holy Trinity in New York.

Enthronement

June 22, 2019: The Enthronement of His Eminence Archbishop Elpidophoros of America

The Enthronement of His Eminence Archbishop Elpidophoros of America will take place on Saturday June 22 at the Archdiocesan Cathedral of the Holy Trinity in New York. His Eminence Metropolitan Avgoustinos of Germany will represent His All-Holiness Ecumenical Patriarch Bartholomew. Axios!

The Live Broadcast will begin at 11:00 am ET (8:00 am PT, 18:00 GMT+3).


Latest News Latest News

Loading galleries...

Why Do Bishops Get Enthroned? Why Do Bishops Get Enthroned?

When Archbishop Elpidophoros comes to America, the first thing that’s going to happen is his enthronement on June 22. Yet that word, “enthronement,” can be confusing. After all, a bishop isn’t a king. Why does he need to be enthroned? The Church is a body. And just like different organs perform different functions in the body, the Church is made up of people with different talents and responsibilities. 

Additional Resources for Media and Parishes