The Feast of Feasts The Feast of Feasts

The Calendar of the Orthodox Church

The ecclesiastical year, which according to Byzantine practice begins on the first of September, is divided between movable and immovable or fixed holy days. The movable holy days are determined by the date of Easter, the most important of all feast days, which is in a class by itself. The determination of the date of Easter was definitively regulated by the decision of the First Ecumenical Synod, held in Nicaea (325). Next in importance to Easter are the "twelve great feasts," of which three are movable. Eight of these feasts are devoted to Christ and four to the Virgin Mary. There are also a number of feast days of varying importance, most of which commemorate the more popular saints. Read More

Great Lent & Holy Week in the Orthodox Church Great Lent & Holy Week in the Orthodox Church



christ-is-risen-various-languages-7QXIk02m.doc (Version 1.0)

Thumbnail Uploaded by Andrew Constantinou, 2/12/21 12:12 AM
Author and Source: GOARCH Department » Department of Stewardship, Outreach, and Evangelism » Outreach and Evangelism Ministries Topic: Feasts of the Church Feasts of the Church » Fasting Periods » Great Lent Feasts of the Church » Periods Related to Pascha » Holy Week Feasts of the Church » Great and Holy Pascha
Tags: brochure
Generating preview will take a few minutes.

Version 1.0

Last Updated by Andrew Constantinou
2/12/21 12:12 AM
Status: Approved
Download (26k) ODT PDF RTF SXW TXT Get URL.
Version History
  Version Date Size  
1.0 1 Year Ago 26k