2002 News Archives 2002 News Archives


New Trustees Appointed To The St. Photios Foundation

St. Augustine, FL -- The Executive Director of the Saint Photios Greek Orthodox National Shrine, V. Rev. Nicholas Graff, announced the 2003-2004 St. Photios Foundation Board of Trustees.

The officers of the St. Photios Foundation are: Chairman, His Eminence Archbishop Demetrios of America; President, His Grace Bishop Alexios of Atlanta; Vice President, Mr. Harry Cavalaris of Charlotte, NC; Treasurer, Ms. Maria Carantzas of Jacksonville, FL; and Secretary, Mr. Anthony Megas, of Jacksonville, FL.

The appointed Diocesan Representatives are the following: Archdiocese District, Mr. Andre Gregory and Mrs. Aspacia Melis; Diocese of Chicago, Rev. Anargyros Stavropoulos and Mrs. Joanne Stavrakas; Diocese of San Francisco, Mr. Paul Sogotis; Diocese of Pittsburgh, Rev. George Pappas and Mr. Angelo Koukoulis; Diocese of Boston, Rev. Paul Pantelis and Mr. John Grossmanides; Diocese of Denver, Rev. Constantine Pavlakos and Mr. Harry Plomarity; Diocese of Atlanta, Mr. Peter Carantza, Mrs. Cina Daskalakis, Mr. George Parandes, Dr. Steve Poulos, and Dr. Manuel Tissura; Diocese of Detroit Rev. Nicholas Pathenos and Mr. George Reganis; and from the Diocese of New Jersey, Mr. Christopher D'Anna and Mr. Christopher Skenteris.

The Ex-Officio Trustees are His Grace Bishop Dimitrios of Xanthos, Archdiocese Coordinator; Dr. Anthony Limberakis, Archons of the Ecumenical Patriarchate of the Order of St. Andrew; Mrs. Georgia Skeadas, National Ladies Philoptochos Society; Mr. Andrew Athens, United Hellenic American Congress (UHAC); Dr. James Dimitriou, Order of the American Hellenic Educational Progressive Association (AHEPA).

The Ex-Officio Trustee members from Holy Trinity Greek Orthodox Church in St. Augustine, FL, Rev. Nikitas Theodosion and Mr. Mikae Gaetanos; from St. Demetrios Greek Orthodox Church in Daytona Beach, FL, Rev. Nicholas Manousakis and Mr. George Pappas; and from St. John the Divine Greek Orthodox Church in Jacksonville, FL, V. Rev. Nicholas Graff and Mr. Nicholas Furris.

The Emeritus Board members include: Chairman Emeritus, His Eminence Archbishop Iakovos; President Emeritus, His Grace Bishop John of Amorion; Mr. Peter Bouras of FL; Mrs. Eula Carlos of GA; Dr. George Croffead of SC; Mr. Charles Masterpolis of GA; Mr. Ted Pappas of FL; and Honorary Member, Mr. Ernest Villas of MA.

The St. Photios Foundation Board of Trustees will meet for their Annual Trustees Meeting in St. Augustine, Florida during the Annual St. Photios National Shrine Pilgrimage on February 1 and 2, 2003. Fr. Graff expressed, “We serve to the glory of God, in faithfulness to our Holy Orthodox Church, and in total fidelity to our beloved St. Photios Shrine, our Archdiocese, and our Archbishop.” The term of the Board will expire in December 2004.

The St. Photios Greek Orthodox National Shrine is a living memorial to the first Greek settlers on the American continent and to all the Greek Orthodox pioneers whose love of freedom and desire for a better life for themselves and their children brought them to this New World. The St. Photios National Shrine is located in historic downtown St. Augustine, Florida, at 41 St. George Street.

Contact: Andrew J. Lekos
Tel: (904) 829-8205
Fax (904) 829-8707
E-mail [email protected]