2020 – 2022 Archdiocesan Council Membership and Committees Assignments Announced

2020 – 2022 Archdiocesan Council Membership and Committees Assignments Announced

With the blessing of His Eminence Archbishop Elpidophoros, the Greek Orthodox Archdiocese of America announces the membership and committee assignments for the 2020-2022 term of the Archdiocesan Council. This term, the Archdiocesan Council is welcoming a record number of first time Members to its ranks as Archbishop Elpidophoros continues to welcome new voices and points of view into the governance of the church. 

The Archdiocesan Council is the advisory and consultative body to the Archbishop and to the Holy Eparchial Synod, and are involved and responsible for the oversight of matters and issues that affect the life, growth and unity of the Archdiocese. The work of the Council is achieved through strategic committees, made up of Members and key staff individuals from the departments, ministries and institutions of the Archdiocese. After collaborating throughout the year, the Archdiocese and her ministries are driven by the expertise and formation that come about through this synergy.

While the main decision-making authority of the Archdiocese is ultimately the Clergy Laity Congress which meets every two years, the Council exercises interim authority in lieu of the Congress. 

The Archdiocesan Council’s voting members are the Archbishop as President, the Members of the Holy Eparchial Synod, the Auxiliary Bishops, and the Chancellor of the Archdiocese. Following that, there are fifty-one members appointed by the Archbishop, each Past Vice-President of the Council, the Chancellors of each Metropolis, the Vice President of the Archdiocesan District Council and the Metropolis Councils, and finally one Clergy and two lay persons from the Archdiocesan District and each Metropolis, elected by their Local Assembly.

Also included as voting members is the National Commander of the Archons of the Ecumenical Patriarchate, the Chairman of the Archdiocesan Benefits Committee, as well as the Presidents of the following Archdiocesan institutions: the Archdiocesan Cathedral, the Archdiocesan Presbyters Council, Hellenic College/Holy Cross School of Theology, the National Forum of Church Musicians, the National Ladies Philoptochos Society, the National Sisterhood of Presvyteres, the Retired Clergy Association, Saint Basil Academy, St. Michael's Home and St. Photios National Shrine. Lastly, also included as non-voting members are the Presidents of Leadership 100 and AHEPA.

From this body of voting members come the important positions of Officers, mainly being Vice President, Secretary and Treasurer. The officers have daily interactions with the Archbishop and the Staff at the Archdiocese, and are deeply involved in the workings of the Archdiocese. Bearing both a moral and fiduciary responsibility, the Officers work together with His Eminence to guide the Archdiocese throughout the year, and ensure that the intentions of the Archdiocesan Council are being carried out on a daily basis. 

The composition of the Archdiocesan Council is one of inclusion, not just for a few select voices, but to ensure that every corner of the Archdiocese and her ministries is being represented. For a full list of Archdiocesan Council Members and committee assignments, please visit

What's New on GOARCH? What's New on GOARCH?