Skip to content. Skip to navigation
Personal tools

Archbishop Demetrios of America to Receive Athenagoras Human Rights Award October 27

Document Actions

Sep 20, 2007

New York, NY - The Order of St. Andrew, Archons of the Ecumenical Patriarchate of America have named His Eminence Archbishop Demetrios as the recipient of the 2007 Athenagoras Human Rights Award. The Award will be presented on Saturday, October 27, at the Archons' annual banquet at the Hilton Hotel in New York City. The Order of St. Andrew is a dedicated and distinguished group of laymen, recognized as “Defenders of the Faith,” who have been granted the title of Archon by the Ecumenical Patriarch of Constantinople.

In announcing the Award, Dr. Anthony J. Limberakis, National Commander of the Order of St. Andrew, stated,

“Archbishop Demetrios of America exemplifies the very elements that constitute the Athenagoras Human Rights Award - humanity, humility, holiness, compassion and leadership. We will never forget his extraordinary personal care in the tragic aftermath of the 9-11 terrorist attacks. Moreover, throughout his archiepiscopacy in America he has promoted and defended the dignity and sanctity of the Apostolic Throne of St. Andrew, our beloved Ecumenical Patriarchate. On the occasion of his 40th Anniversary of his ordination to the Episcopacy and in thanksgiving for his 47 years in the priestly order of Melchizedek, he has demonstrated exemplary service to humankind as an Orthodox hierarch, theologian, statesman and biblical scholar, the Archons of the Order of St. Andrew are honored to bestow the 2007 Athenagoras Human Rights Award upon the spiritual leader of Greek Orthodox Christians in America, and Exarch of His All Holiness Ecumenical Patriarch Bartholomew, our beloved Archbishop Demetrios.”

Established in 1986, the Athenagoras Award honors Ecumenical Patriarch Athenagoras who served as Archbishop of the Americas for 18 years before being elected Ecumenical Patriarch in 1948. He was universally acknowledged as a visionary leader of Orthodoxy, numbering more than 250 million faithful worldwide, who worked for peace among Churches and people throughout his life. Previous recipients of this Award include Archbishop Iakovos, President Jimmy Carter, President George H.W. and First Lady Barbara Bush, President of the Soviet Union Mikhail Gorbachev, Archbishop Desmond Tutu, Mother Teresa and Elie Wiesel.

Document Actions