Skip to content. Skip to navigation
Personal tools

Ages and Stages of Family Life

Document Actions


During the course of our lives, each of us goes through many different stages. Below are recognized stages of individual and family life. Please note actual ages may vary considerably from one stage to another. Within each of these periods, much growth and development take place.

Stages of Life Stages of Family Life Cycle
Stage 1: Infancy (Birth to 18 months) Stage 1: Independence
Stage 2: Early Childhood (18 months to 3 years) Stage 2: Coupling
Stage 3: Preschool (3 years to 5 years) Stage 3: Families with Young Children
Stage 4: School Age (5 years to 12 years) Stage 4: Families with Adolescents
Stage 5: Adolescence (12 years to 18 years) Stage 5: Empty Nesters
Stage 6: Young Adult (18 years to 35 years) Stage 6: Retirement and Senior Living
Stage 7: Middle Age (35 years to 55 years)
Stage 8: Late Adult (55+ years)